Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Sign of the Apocalypse? NAACP Meets with KKK

Posted By on Wed, Sep 4, 2013 at 4:30 PM

Just in case you missed it over the weekend: The apocalypse officially began when John Abarr of the United Klans of America (KKK) met with Jimmy Simmons of the NAACP. The meeting, believed to be the first of its kind, was coordinated by Simmons to address reports of attacks against black men and KKK pamphleting in Gillette, Wyoming.

From the Associated Press:

Abarr told The Associated Press that he met with Simmons Saturday and ended up filling out an NAACP membership form so he can get the group's newsletters and some insight into its views. He said he paid the $30 fee to join, plus a $20 donation.

But Abarr said he didn't ask anybody at the meeting if they would like to join the KKK.

"You have to be white to join the Klan," he said.

Simmons asked for the meeting following reports that KKK literature was being distributed in Gillette, about 130 miles north of Casper, and that African-American men were being beaten while out in public with white women.

"It's about opening dialogue with a group that claims they're trying to reform themselves from violence," Simmons said in a telephone interview Tuesday, saying the meeting went well. "They're trying to shed that violent skin, but it seems like they're just changing the packaging."

Abarr said he knows nothing about any beatings or the literature that was distributed in a residential neighborhood in October.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 22 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: Sept. 21-Sept. 23 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Bert, Ernie, and Squirmy (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation