Friday, August 30, 2013

Slaid Cleaves Sings the Battle Heroic

Posted By on Fri, Aug 30, 2013 at 12:00 PM

Slaid Cleaves finds poetry in humanity, one struggling soul at a time. Accompanied by "Scrappy" Jud Newcomb on guitar, he shared his story songs at a Rhythm and Roots concert on Aug. 28. C. Elliott's photos follow. Find out more about Cleaves and his music in Gene Armstrong's Tucson Weekly feature, Songs and Stories.

Slaid Cleaves, right, with Scrappy Jud Newcomb
  • C. Elliott
  • Slaid Cleaves, right, with "Scrappy" Jud Newcomb

Slaid Cleaves, Rhythm and Roots, Aug. 28, 2013
  • C. Elliott
  • Slaid Cleaves, Rhythm and Roots, Aug. 28, 2013

Slaid Cleaves, Rhythm and Roots, Aug. 28, 2013
  • C. Elliott
  • Slaid Cleaves, Rhythm and Roots, Aug. 28, 2013

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Linda Ray

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. 22 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: Sept. 21-Sept. 23 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Zona Politics: Congressman Raul Grijalva and Congressional District 2 Candidate Mary Matiella (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation