Friday, August 9, 2013

Werner Herzog Made a Film for AT&T About Texting While Driving

Posted By on Fri, Aug 9, 2013 at 10:30 AM

It would be fair to say, I think, that Werner Herzog has put together one of the most uncompromising careers in film history, alternating between fiction and documentaries, eating his shoe, etc. Last year, he released a television series in the UK looking at the stories behind several Americans on death row, but I don't suspect most people would have imagined his follow-up would be a film for AT&T discouraging people from texting while driving.

However, Herzog told AP that he didn't see any reason not to make the PSA:

"What AT&T proposed immediately clicked and connected inside of me. There's a completely new culture out there. I'm not a participant of texting and driving — or texting at all — but I see there's something going on in civilization which is coming with great vehemence at us...."It's very easy to reconcile that," said Herzog. "This has nothing to do with consumerism or being part of advertising products. This whole campaign is rather dissuading you from excessive use of a product. It's a campaign. We're not trying to sell anything to you. We're not trying to sell a mobile phone to you. We're trying to raise awareness."

And, unsurprisingly, the film still feels like a Herzog work, staring directly into the faces of the victims and the texters who caused the crashes, and it definitely makes the point AT&T intended. So, I guess it's a perfect use of Herzog's skills and experience.

Tags: , , ,

Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Dan Gibson

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. T.H.R.E.A.T. Watch: Border Edition (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. One Great Thing to Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, June 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Fjord Needs a Family (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Exo Roast Co. Ditches Plastic for Paper (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. #RedforEd Initiative Would Hike Taxes on Rich to Pay for Schools (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation