Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Pension Initiative Facing Legal Challenge

Posted By on Wed, Jul 24, 2013 at 4:59 PM

The proposed initiative to scrap the city of Tucson's pension program is facing a legal challenge.

Attorney Roopali H. Desai of Phoenix-based Coppersmith Schermer & Brockelman filed the lawsuit on Monday, July 22. The suit alleges that many of the signatures on the initiatives should be invalidated for various technical reasons, including 6,713 signatures that attorneys allege were collected by people with criminal records whose civil rights have not been restored.

City officials have warned that the initiative could cost the city millions of dollars if it passes.

Pete Zimmerman, the political consultant for the Committee for Sustainable Retirement campaign, said in an email:

This is clearly an effort to obfuscate the issue. The petition effort was carefully conducted and the offices of the City Clerk and County Recorder rigorously examined the signatures, ultimately concluding that the submittal exceeded the minimum requirements by more than 40%. The 23,000 people who signed the petition deserve to see this issue on the November ballot. Let the voters decide.

Desai did not return a phone call this afternoon.

A court date has been set for Friday, Aug. 2.

This post has been updated to include Pete Zimmerman's comment.

Comments (4)

Showing 1-4 of 4

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-4 of 4

Add a comment

More by Jim Nintzel

  • Editor's Note

    Fourth and Goals
    • May 17, 2018
  • The Skinny

    The Congressional District 2 democratic showdown
    • May 17, 2018
  • The Skinny

    Class Warfare and Other Notes 13 Takeaways from the 2018 Legislative Session
    • May 10, 2018
  • More »
Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
PiYo Strength Class

PiYo Strength Class @ Floor Polish

Thursdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Arlo Needs a Home (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. The Weekly List: 23 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation