Monday, June 17, 2013

For Four UA Grads, Tying Shoes Is A Sucker's Game

Posted By on Mon, Jun 17, 2013 at 5:00 PM

Hipsters and frat guys, rejoice! The end to your days of constantly retying the leather laces on your boat shoes is in sight.

Four University of Arizona grads have come together to create DockClips. Last year, while enrolled in UA's Eller College of Management, the creators got a grant from the University for research and development.

The clips, which are designed for use solely with leather laces, snap over a traditional knot and prevent the laces from untying. The campaign says it's been three months since they put the clips on their shoes and the laces are still tied. (Meanwhile, 5-year-olds everywhere are emptying their piggy banks and investing with dreams of playtime free from mom double knotting their laces).

The four founders were frat brothers and they plan to use Greek letters on the clips. The campaign video says they're excited to provide a solution to "a problem that people in Greek life have had for years."

They're looking to fund the project through a Kickstarter campaign.

The fundraising campaign ends July 14. For $100(!) you can get a pair of DockClips featuring the boat logo, but for a mere $250(?!) you can get a custom design. Now, the custom design is a Kickstarter-only perk. However, once the business is up and running for real, the product is expected to retail for $18-$25 (but go ahead and spend the extra $80-$230 to get them a few months early with a super snazzy sunglass strap). And, don't worry ladies, a smaller version for women's laces is in the works.

As the campaign says, life's too short to tie your shoes more than once.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Chelo Grubb

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Tucson's Newest Sports Team (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. 22 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: Sept. 21-Sept. 23 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation