Thursday, May 16, 2013

A Rather F—king Timely Note on Swearing

Posted By on Thu, May 16, 2013 at 12:00 PM

Dear Readers Who Are Offended By Harsh Language:

From a post on Jezebel yesterday, "Fuck Your Delicate Sensibilities, I'm Going to Swear as Much as I Want":

The problem is that people mistake the "language is powerful" argument for "it stings my granny when you say the fuck word." The history of swear words is interesting, but swear words themselves don't matter one fucking bit. Swear words are what people whine about when they want a cheap way to derail an argument. Swear words are for people who don't have anything real to complain about. I wish my life (or, at least, my awareness of the shit going on in the world) was simplified to the point where swearing could be my top priority—where swearing could be worth complaining about. But fuck that.

Please read the whole fucking thing right here.

Tags: , , ,

Comments (11)

Showing 1-11 of 11

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-11 of 11

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Monday, March 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Tucson Roadrunners Unveil Kachina-Themed Jerseys (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: A Rising Threat (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. GIVEAWAY: Win Tickets to KFMADay 2019! (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation