Monday, April 8, 2013

This Just In: It Is Windy As Hell

Posted By on Mon, Apr 8, 2013 at 1:19 PM

Sure, this isn't much of a revelation unless you've been inside of a bunker all day, but the winds are whirling about the desert today, coating cars across the city in fine layers of dust and making everyone lament visiting the car wash this weekend.

Just how strong are the winds getting today, you ask? Well, according to the National Weather Service, we may see gusts around 50 m.p.h. in Southern Arizona today — just fast enough to make you regret going outside for lunch.

The winds are said to be a part of a low-pressure system sweeping in, which should cool things down to the mid 70s for the next couple days, bringing conditions that are similar to what people in other parts of the country call "spring weather" to our beloved arid wasteland.

If you're driving on the interstates today, just make sure to be careful — there are dust-warnings aplenty, and there's a good chance that visibility will be affected. Drive slow, homies.

(And to answer your question, Rialto Theatre, that is "WTF is up with this bullshit wind today." And we also love it because we get to say "haboob.")

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. You've Got a Month Left to Vote in the First Round of Best of Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: Laff’s and Tears, Plus New Mics (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation