Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Man Hires Assassins to Kill Son—In Online Game Son Won't Stop Playing

Posted By on Tue, Jan 8, 2013 at 3:00 PM

This should go without saying, but some online gamers are weird.

According to video gaming blog Kotaku, a Mr. Feng, of China, was concerned with the time his unemployed 23-year-old son was spending playing various online role playing games instead of looking for work—so concerned that he hired players to track down his son's characters in his favorite games, and gank (kill) the hell out of them.

From Kotaku:

Feng's idea was that his son would get bored of playing games if he was killed every time he logged on, and that he would start putting more effort into getting a job.

Despite being sick of getting killed every time, Xiao Feng [Mr. Feng's son] decided to stick up to his father and tell him how he felt. He was quoted as saying, "I can play or I can not play, it doesn't bother me. I'm not looking for any job—I want to take some time to find one that suits me."

Given this turn of events, Mr. Feng is said to be "relieved," though it's not clear whether or not he's called off the cyber hounds.

Either way, best of luck to Feng, Jr. for his job search, and to Mr. Feng for his potentially lucrative new industry that he's developed.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
Broken Threads, Lives Unraveled: Fuentes Rojas and the Migrant Quilt Project

Broken Threads, Lives Unraveled: Fuentes Rojas and the Migrant Quilt Project @ University of Arizona Poetry Center

Through April 20, 6-7:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Arizona Spends $7,613 More Per Student In White Districts Than In Nonwhite Districts? Really? (Answer: No, Not Really) (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Wednesday, March 20 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Trump Beto Veto (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Pima County Hires New Jail Population Coordinator (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation