Wednesday, November 7, 2012

McSally: "We Feel Good, We're Optimistic, We're a Little Sleep-Deprived"

Posted By on Wed, Nov 7, 2012 at 1:00 PM

Martha McSally addresses the press on Wednesday morning.
  • Mariana Dale
  • Martha McSally addresses the press on Wednesday morning.

Martha McSally told the press this morning that she is optimistic about lead in the Congressional District 2 race against incumbent Congressman Ron Barber.

“We feel good, we’re optimistic, we’re a little sleep deprived but we’re going to let the process work itself out,” McSally said.

As of noon today, McSally was leading the race by 1,312 votes, but there are 80,000 votes left to count in Pima County, where Barber outpolled McSally, particularly in early voting.

Barber released a statement this morning:


While we don't yet know the outcome of this election, I want to say how grateful I am to all those who have stood alongside me—and stood up for what’s important to Southern Arizona.

Representing Southern Arizona has been the honor of my life. I am proud to have worked on behalf of Southern Arizonans to protect Medicare and Social Security, ensure our veterans receive the benefits they've earned, and help to rebuild our middle class.

We’ll continue to watch the results over the next few days, and whatever happens, we will trust the people of Southern Arizona—as I always have and always will.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Mariana Dale

  • Rodeo Recap from UA Student Photogs

    • Feb 26, 2013
  • The Skinny

    The Skinny recommends the best places to give your money--and take advantage of the state's charitable tax credit.
    • Dec 27, 2012
  • Police Dispatch

    Losing the lottery (tickets) ... a woman and her money are parted ... a drunken minor gets friendly with local flora
    • Dec 27, 2012
  • More »
Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Tucson Greek Festival

Tucson Greek Festival @ St. Demetrios Greek Orthodox Church

Thu., Sept. 27, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 5-11 p.m., Sat., Sept. 29, 4-11 p.m. and Sun., Sept. 30, 12-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. LD-2 Candidates Debate on Education, Poverty, Environment and the Wall (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. New Trump Plan Would Restrict Green Cards for Immigrants Who Use Public Funds (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Why I Didn't Report (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Ducey, Garcia Clash Over Education, Border Security in First Televised Debate (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation