Friday, October 19, 2012

Tomorrow: A Screening of "Made In LA (Hecho En Los Angeles)"

Posted By on Fri, Oct 19, 2012 at 5:00 PM

Tomorrow, Saturday, Oct. 20, the Univeristy of Arizona's Center for Latin American Studies will be screening "Made in LA (Hecho en Los Angeles,) a documentary film in Spanish and English with bilingual subtitles. It follows garment workers, many of them Mexican immigrants, in their long fight with clothing giant Forever 21 in an effort to secure fair wages and basic labor protections. The film is being shown at the Sam Lena-South Tucson Library, 1607 S. Sixth Ave., from 1-3 p.m.

This screening is part of the Borderlands Film Series, a project by the CLAS to provide community outreach and awareness of different issues affecting communities along the US-Mexico border.

In addition to the film, the representatives from the UA Law School's Tucson Immigrant Workers' Project will be on hand and available to talk about the services they offer.

For more information, please call 626-0189.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
PiYo Strength Class

PiYo Strength Class @ Floor Polish

Thursdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. New Ballot Initiative Promises Cheaper Electricity Bills and Cleaner Air (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. T.H.R.E.A.T. Watch: Border Edition (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. One Great Thing to Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, June 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: The Chump Foundation (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Sally Hemings, 1773-2018: Hemingses' Lives Matter (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation