Friday, October 12, 2012

Why Lindsay Lohan's Endorsement of Romney Is Kinda Important

Posted By on Fri, Oct 12, 2012 at 11:00 AM

So, Lindsey Lohan plans on voting for Mitt Romney this November, according to a bit of information released by E! News.

Now, I generally discount the words of a raving serial drunk driver and rehab center frequenter (Do you get a free mug with a DT-proof splashguard after five visits or something?) as much as anyone, but Business Insider has given me a reason to be concerned:

Lohan, by all accounts, is a typical low-information voter. And low information voters, like it or not, will decide this election.

BI's Walter Hickey then notes that Lohan isn't alone in her low-information selection of a candidate to back, making note of Friday Night Lights author Buzz Bissinger:

Bissinger, [Dave Weigel of Slate] notes, was a low information voter. He ignored the election, watched the debate, took everyone's word for it on the facts, and backed Romney.

But Bissinger is emblematic of millions of Americans. These people don't follow politics, don't understand the issues with depth, and plan to vote based on what little information they've gleaned.

Basically, it seems as if things are coming down to the fact that tangential things that may have won Obama the last election (potentially the first black president; a Democrat running following a widely-reviled Republican administration; convincing the electorate with simple introductions to complex issues) are working against him in this election.

The concern is whether or not the Obama campaign calls out Romney and Ryan for their smoke-and-mirrors policy tactics — and if low-information voters will even care by that point.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments (66)

Showing 1-50 of 66

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-50 of 66

Add a comment

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Erma Bombeck: At Wit's End

A loving tribute to Ohio wife and mother turned longtime Arizona resident who made herself into a… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Oct. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Oct. 21, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Oct. 23, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Oct. 24, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Oct. 25, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Oct. 26, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Oct. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Oct. 28, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Oct. 30, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Oct. 31, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Nov. 1, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Nov. 2, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Nov. 3, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Nov. 4, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 7, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Nov. 8, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Nov. 9, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Nov. 10, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. In Our City of Gastronomy, Learn About the Social Justice and Politics of Food (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Downtown Developers Announce Plan for a New Hotel Tower (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Maroon 5 to Perform at the 2019 Super Bowl (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Pumpkin Head (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Red Sox and Dodgers Head to the 2018 World Series (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation