Friday, September 28, 2012

Tonight (Friday Night): Arizona Libre With Jeff Biggers and More

Posted By on Fri, Sep 28, 2012 at 5:55 PM

rialtoposter.jpg

If you read this week's Weekly, hopefully you read the excerpt from Jeff Biggers' new book, State Out of the Union: Arizona and the Final Showdown Over the American Dream, and tonight at the Rialto, you'll get a chance to hear Biggers read and perform. Doors open at 7 p.m., and the show starts at 8 p.m.; admission is just $5.

Need a few more reasons to go? Admission goes to the Raza Defense Fund, but you'll also get to see Salvador Duran, The Jons, Carlos Arzate and Mariachi Nueva Melodia.

From show organizers:

State Out of the Union: Arizona and the Final Showdown Over the American Dream is award-winning journalist and historian Jeff Biggers’ riveting account from the Arizona frontlines on how the state's historical conflicts over immigration, Ethnic Studies and state’s rights have become a national bellwether.

But Arizona is not only home to some of the most virulent anti-immigration legislation in the country—it is also the bir
thplace of a new movement of young Latino activists and allies who have challenged the self-proclaimed architect of SB 1070 in a historic recall election, and are also mobilizing to defend Mexican American Studies, civil rights and the state’s education system from censorship.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: The Conway Mood Killer (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. How Did Edbuild Get Arizona's Per-Student Funding Numbers So Wrong? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday, March 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation