Saturday, September 1, 2012

You May Soon Wear Be Wearing Battery Bracelets

Posted By on Sat, Sep 1, 2012 at 10:00 AM


Image from Extreme Tech.

Interesting news coming from LG Chem: The company has developed a lithium-ion battery cable that's thin enough to be incorporated into clothing and accessories, meaning that now, you really will have The Power.

From Extreme Tech:

Now, flexible batteries have been created before — but they’ve all just standard, flat, laminated batteries made from sub-optimum materials, such as polymers. As such, as they have very low energy density, and they’re only bendy in the same way that a thin sheet of plastic is bendy. LG Chem’s cable-type batteries have the same voltage and energy density as your smartphone battery — but they’re thin and highly flexible to boot. LG Chem has already powered an iPod Shuffle for 10 hours using a knotted 25cm length of cable-type battery. LG’s goal is to have this battery ready for mass production by 2017.

I don't know about you, but I'm definitely willing to wait five years to be able to charge the ridiculous number of electronics I carry from a cable around my wrist.

Screw flying cars. We live in the future, people.

(Wait. We have flying cars now, too.)

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. The Weekly List: 29 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Saving the Sanctuary: Tucson City Council Pushes for Historic Status for Midtown Benedictine Monastery as Development Battle Intensifies (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Laughing Stock: Quiñones' Creeper Rides High (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. The Evolution and Devolution of Diane Douglas (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation