Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Mum's the Word: Mums Have Reached the Nurseries

Posted By on Wed, Aug 29, 2012 at 8:30 AM

If you have been out shopping this week for some new flowers, you will have seen the first batch of chrysanthemums in the centers. You certainly can use these as a burst of color for the fall, but I do not recommend them as a perennial for the long term in our desert pots.

Chrysanthemum
  • Chrysanthemum

I always like our pots to be full of color. Mums will have their bloom time and then be green. Dedicated gardeners may be able to get them to bloom again but I do not have the patience to wait, often a full year and then still no blooms (for me at least!)

Instead, watch for osteospremums as they will give you a much longer season. And if you really like chrysanthemums, use them in a small decorative pot for temporary color.

Osteos in All Their Glory!

No matter what—have fun getting potted this fall!

For more pictures on potted gardens in the desert, visit the Sonoran Gardens website today.

Have a question? Email Marylee, Tucson's Potted Garden Expert.

Sign up for our Potted E-News today. Receive monthly potted garden information as well as SW Arizona freeze alerts, heat and wind advisories.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Marylee M. Pangman

Today | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat
DO(OM) Yoga

DO(OM) Yoga @ Floor Polish

Sundays, 8-9 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Please Adopt a Pet From PACC Because There Are a Bazillion (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Two Great Things to Do in Tucson: Monday, June 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Laughing Stock: Is Blarney in the Blood? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Free Kool-Aid (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: American Beaches (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation