Monday, July 9, 2012

Zachary's Pizza Is Closing

Posted By on Mon, Jul 9, 2012 at 9:08 AM

From the Zacharys Pizza Facebook page
  • From the Zachary's Pizza Facebook page

This is the saddest Tucson food news I've ever announced, but the world must know: Zachary's Pizza at 1028 E. Sixth St. is closing at the end of the month. An employee verified the closure when I called to check what I hoped was just a rumor.

I once took a man with a fatal disease to Zachary's. His illness had left him with no appetite, yet he ate almost two of the place's enormous slices. The pizza is that good. I've spent anniversaries there, made long-time friends there and consumed my body weight many times over in beer and pizza there over the years.

It's sad when just about any restaurant closes - even if the food leaves something to be desired, restaurant people work hard, long hours to feed us - but this one really stings. Thanks for all the great times Zachary's, and I'll be seeing you a lot over the next three weeks.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments (49)

Showing 1-49 of 49

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-49 of 49

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Adam Borowitz

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Erma Bombeck: At Wit's End

A loving tribute to Ohio wife and mother turned longtime Arizona resident who made herself into a… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Oct. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Oct. 21, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Oct. 23, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Oct. 24, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Oct. 25, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Oct. 26, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Oct. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Oct. 28, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Oct. 30, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Oct. 31, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Nov. 1, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Nov. 2, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Nov. 3, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Nov. 4, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 7, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Nov. 8, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Nov. 9, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Nov. 10, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. In Our City of Gastronomy, Learn About the Social Justice and Politics of Food (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Downtown Developers Announce Plan for a New Hotel Tower (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Maroon 5 to Perform at the 2019 Super Bowl (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Pumpkin Head (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Rose Bowl Blues: Rhett Rodriguez and Arizona Fall Flat Against UCLA, 31-30 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation