Monday, July 9, 2012

Zachary's Pizza Is Closing

Posted By on Mon, Jul 9, 2012 at 9:08 AM

From the Zacharys Pizza Facebook page
  • From the Zachary's Pizza Facebook page

This is the saddest Tucson food news I've ever announced, but the world must know: Zachary's Pizza at 1028 E. Sixth St. is closing at the end of the month. An employee verified the closure when I called to check what I hoped was just a rumor.

I once took a man with a fatal disease to Zachary's. His illness had left him with no appetite, yet he ate almost two of the place's enormous slices. The pizza is that good. I've spent anniversaries there, made long-time friends there and consumed my body weight many times over in beer and pizza there over the years.

It's sad when just about any restaurant closes - even if the food leaves something to be desired, restaurant people work hard, long hours to feed us - but this one really stings. Thanks for all the great times Zachary's, and I'll be seeing you a lot over the next three weeks.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments (49)

Showing 1-49 of 49

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-49 of 49

Add a comment

More by Adam Borowitz

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Nights @ Reid Park Zoo

Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Saving the Sanctuary: Tucson City Council Pushes for Historic Status for Midtown Benedictine Monastery as Development Battle Intensifies (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: Laff’s and Tears, Plus New Mics (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation