Thursday, June 28, 2012

In Case You Missed Our "Magic Mike" Review...

Posted By on Thu, Jun 28, 2012 at 2:00 PM

While somehow Colin Boyd's review of Magic Mike didn't make into one of our two featured movie review spots this week, I don't personally recall a film discussed quite as much at the Weekly offices during my time with the paper. So in case you're wondering what Colin thought of Steven Soderbergh's take on male stripping, here's his take:

More Boogie Nights than Showgirls, Steven Soderbergh’s Magic Mike showcases the dark side of the high life, in this case, the nonstop party of a male strip club in Tampa, Fla. Taken (one assumes somewhat liberally) from star Channing Tatum’s own background as an exotic dancer, Magic Mike has a few stripping sequences, but Soderbergh always manages to make each dance less about strippers getting tips and more about the emotional content of the film in that moment. It’s a tricky way to go about showing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey in thongs, but by and large, the sequences in the club act in the service of a film that is a lot darker below the surface than its opening moments suggest. Tatum has found his mark; McConaughey is solid in what may or may not be self-parody; and Soderbergh again demonstrates his skill when he’s deeply invested in a project.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Dan Gibson

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. #RedforEd Initiative Would Hike Taxes on Rich to Pay for Schools (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Exo Roast Co. Ditches Plastic for Paper (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Yappy Jesus (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Cinema Clips: Hereditary (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Fjord Needs a Family (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation