Friday, June 8, 2012

Writer's Block: Loretta Kantor

Posted By on Fri, Jun 8, 2012 at 3:00 PM

Kantor_author_photo.jpg

Arizona author Loretta Kantor, originally from the Bronx, NY, has written a story of personal triumph in the aftermath of the Vietnam War entitled Private War, Personal Victory: Footnote to the Vietnam War. (Windy Acre, 199 pages, $18, available on Amazon.) Kantor and her husband moved to Tucson in 1980. They now reside in Hereford.

Book summary from the author:

Private War, Personal Victory: Footnote to the Vietnam War is the true story of how great courage and deep love overcame a tragic explosion in Vietnam that claimed one soldier's arms, legs and an eye. The author tells how she and her college sweetheart struggled to restore a future that was stolen from them by the draft, Vietnam, and a booby trap explosion. Surviving and learning to live with injuries of war were only part of the struggle. They had to live in an America that had turned it's back on the Vietnam soldier. They had to battle with an unresponsive Veteran's Administration. They had to endure the lack of support and at times, outright hostility from the author's family. They had to overcome an inaccessible world. In spite of all the obstacles thrown at them, Lloyd and Loretta restored their future, and have been happily married for over 40 years.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Irene Messina

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
Circus in Bloom

Circus in Bloom @ Circus Sanctuary

Sun., March 24, 12-3:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Arizona Spends $7,613 More Per Student In White Districts Than In Nonwhite Districts? Really? (Answer: No, Not Really) (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. In The Flesh: The Revivalists Rock Tucson in Grand Debut (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Trump Beto Veto (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Wednesday, March 20 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation