Thursday, May 17, 2012

The Best Tribute to Chuck Brown You'll Read

Posted By on Thu, May 17, 2012 at 11:00 AM

It's impossible to overstate how popular and influential go-go singer/guitarist Chuck Brown was in the Washington, DC area, even if his fame didn't really transcend regional fame, other than a few hits and some legendary samples. However, David Simon, creator of The Wire, probably reflected Brown's legacy best on his blog yesterday:

Just heard the news that the father of D.C. go-go has died. He was 75.

Having heard Big G, The Backyard Band and the Soul Searcher horn section bring their funk to New Orleans last Friday, the news lands strangely. The guys on the stage of Tipitina’s last week are very much the proud children of Mr. Brown and his Soul Searchers.

This man, who invented a musical genre and grooved so hard and for so long, is not yet in the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame. The Dave Clark Five, however, are comfortably settled in the shrine.

Argument enough to burn that motherfucker down to the Lake Erie waterline.

Tags: , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Dan Gibson

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Nights @ Reid Park Zoo

Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Four Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Wednesday, June 20 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. New Ballot Initiative Promises Cheaper Electricity Bills and Cleaner Air (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: The Chump Foundation (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. The Loft Hosts Free screening of 'The House I Live In' (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Sally Hemings, 1773-2018: Hemingses' Lives Matter (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation