Thursday, April 12, 2012

Bennett: Supes Must Pick Independent To Fill Patterson's Seat

Posted By on Thu, Apr 12, 2012 at 10:40 AM

Arizona Secretary of State Ken Bennett has informed Pima County Supervisor Ramon Valadez that state Rep. Daniel Patterson was an independent at the time of his resignation yesterday, so the seat is supposed to go to an independent.

Patterson, who was elected as a Democrat, changed his registration to independent as the walls closed in on him at the Capitol. He re-registered as Democrat yesterday, but Bennett says the registration wasn't recorded until 2:01 p.m. and the resignation was effective at 1:36 p.m., so Patterson was technically an independent.

But Bennett left the door open for a lawsuit on the matter.

"My office is bound to follow the statutes precisely," Bennett wrote to Valadez. "However, I would welcome a judicial resolution to his matter should one arise."

Pima County Democratic Party chairman Jeff Rogers told The Range this morning that a lawsuit is possible, although he had not seen Bennett's letter when we spoke to him.

There's a question of whether it's really worth a lawsuit, given that the session is nearly over, the district will have new boundaries in the election later this year, and Republicans now hold such a commanding advantage in the House that one more Democratic vote is unlikely to make much of a difference with the business that's left to be resolved this year.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

More by Jim Nintzel

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. After Her Immigration Bill Fails, McSally Crows That It "Nearly" Passed (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. 31 Great Things to do in Tucson this Weekend: Friday June 22-Sunday June 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Space Balls II (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Gov Race: Ken Bennett Talks Education, Gun Safety and Balancing the Budget (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. One Great Thing to Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, June 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation