Monday, March 12, 2012

The Continuing Downward Spiral of Eddie Murphy's Career

Posted By on Mon, Mar 12, 2012 at 2:00 PM

As of this morning, Eddie Murphy's latest film, A Thousand Words has a 0% rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Which means that, of the 39 reviews by professional movie critics, absolutely no one liked it.

For comparison's sake, that 0% puts it in rarified air, alongside such luminary films as Manos: The Hands of Fate, Highlander 2: The Quickening and Sarah Palin propagand-umentary The Undefeated, which probably should have won an award for having the least factually accurate movie title of 2011.

But don't feel bad for Murphy: RT users have thus far given A Thousand Words a 63% approval rating, though to be honest, I wasn't aware that many people who enjoyed The Adventures of Pluto Nash still existed.

A sampling of the positive reviews: "Every movie doesn't have to be cutting edge or Saturday Night Live clever," says a woman who apparently hasn't seen SNL since Will Ferrell left; "I laughed out loud and I teared up. Although, come to think of it I was the only one who was doing these things in the theater come to think of it," says one honest man; and finally, the gold standard of the positive reviews: "It's Liar, Liar meets The Artist...more or less."

It's currently playing in Tucson, but make sure to check out Colin Boyd's upcoming review, out this Thursday — if nothing else, for the off-chance he decides to screw up the anti-perfect game this flick appears to be pitching.

Tags: , , ,

Comments (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Monday, March 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Tucson Roadrunners Unveil Kachina-Themed Jerseys (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: A Rising Threat (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. GIVEAWAY: Win Tickets to KFMADay 2019! (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation