Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Save Ethnic Studies Attorney Files Injunction

Posted By on Tue, Nov 15, 2011 at 4:00 PM

According to a press release from Save Ethnic Studies today, Richard Martinez, attorney for the TUSD ethnic studies teachers suing the state on the constitutionality of the state's anti-ethnic studies law, filed a preliminary injunction motion yesterday asking the court to halt "further enforcement action under HB 2281 against the Tucson Unified School District. If granted, Superintendent Huppenthal would be prohibited from imposing any sanction on the Tucson Unified School District."

The Motion for Preliminary Injunction asks the court to enter an order enjoining Superintendent Huppenthal from proceeding with his enforcement action pursuant to A.R.S. §§15-112 and 41-1092 et seq. because it violates the plaintiffs' constitutional rights.

Superintendent Huppenthal has ignored his own retained experts, who as reported in the Cambium Audit Report, found that TUSD's Mexican American Studies program did NOT violate HB 2281. On June 15, 2011, Superintendent Huppenthal issued his own Finding that alleged violations and is now seeking to force the closure of the TUSD's Mexican American Studies program.

The plaintiffs filed their initial lawsuit in Federal District Court on October 18, 2010. HB 2281 seeks to ban the teaching of Mexican American Studies in TUSD. HB 2281 became effective on December 31, 2011.

Here's a copy of the motion and its attached exhibits:

Injunction_Motion.pdf

exhibit1.pdf

exhibit2.pdf

exhibit3.pdf

exhibit4.pdf

exhibit5.pdf

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Celebrate National Public Lands Day (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Bert, Ernie, and Squirmy (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation