Wednesday, November 9, 2011

In Case You Need to See a Man About a Barrel Cactus ...

Posted By on Wed, Nov 9, 2011 at 10:00 AM

Apparently, the black market is as wide-ranging as Amazon or Overstock.

It’s no longer just a place to get weapons, drugs, kidneys and healthy babies. It might also be the go-to shopping destination for those in need of … desert plants.

About 150 barrel cacti were discovered stolen Monday morning from a cactus farm near South Kolb and East Valencia roads, according to the Pima County Sheriff’s Office. When deputies arrived at the scene they found a large hole in the property’s chain link fence, along with tire tracks going in and out of the property.

Also missing: a backhoe, presumably to help haul said cacti out of the establishment.

PCSO is asking for help in finding these items, as well as the people involved. So, needless to say, if you see a backhoe moseying down the road with a bunch of cacti in its scooper, call 88-CRIME.

Tags: , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Brian J. Pedersen

  • Pedersen on Sports

    A Tucsonan spends his summer vacation dealing cards (and showing off a regrettable tattoo) in Vegas
    • May 22, 2014
  • Crash! Bang!

    Metal Mulisha presents The Crash Factory
    • May 22, 2014
  • Miming to the Music

    The Inner Journey: Mime, Music and Story
    • May 22, 2014
  • More »
Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. The Weekly List: 29 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Laughing Stock: Quiñones' Creeper Rides High (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. The Evolution and Devolution of Diane Douglas (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Saving the Sanctuary: Tucson City Council Pushes for Historic Status for Midtown Benedictine Monastery as Development Battle Intensifies (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation