Thursday, October 20, 2011

Go Grandpa!

Posted By on Thu, Oct 20, 2011 at 11:45 AM

100-year-old marathon runner Fauja Singh broke the record for world's oldest marathon runner after completing the Toronto Marathon in eight hours, 25 minutes and 18 seconds.

The Indian-born London resident has earned himself the name "Turbaned Tornado" and already is a world record holder for his age group.

Singh now hopes to participate in the 2012 London Games torch relay.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Janice Biancavilla

  • Filth for a Cause

    • Dec 8, 2011
  • City Week

    It's electric!; World AIDS Day at Hotel Congress; It's the most wonderful time of the year in Oro Valley and at St. Philip's Plaza
    • Dec 1, 2011
  • Shop Local This Season

    • Nov 21, 2011
  • More »
Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Two Great Things to Do in Tucson: Monday, June 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Laughing Stock: Is Blarney in the Blood? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. A Bitter Cup of News: Revolutionary Grounds Is Grinding to a Halt (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Fun with Dictators (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: Free Kool-Aid (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation