Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Laura Milkins Is Finally Home

Posted By on Tue, Oct 4, 2011 at 10:00 AM

LauraMilkins_walkingHome01.jpg

After five months of walking, Laura Milkins has finally made it. The multimedia/performance artist reached her hometown of Grand Rapids, Michigan after walking over 2000 miles from Tucson.

Milkins' project, Walking Home: stories from the desert to the Great Lakes, started in May as an artful project to focus on community, networking (both traditionally and with technology), and obviously traveling across the country. Each night she would stay with different people and cook them dinner and breakfast as an offering for their hospitality.

The entire journey was filmed on a 24/7 web cam and streamed online for viewers to experience the exciting endeavor with Milkins.

Milkins's project is currently featured in the Grand Rapids ArtPrize Art Festival which runs until Oct. 9.

Read the Weekly's Q&A with Milkins this July while she was on the road.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Janice Biancavilla

  • Filth for a Cause

    • Dec 8, 2011
  • City Week

    It's electric!; World AIDS Day at Hotel Congress; It's the most wonderful time of the year in Oro Valley and at St. Philip's Plaza
    • Dec 1, 2011
  • Shop Local This Season

    • Nov 21, 2011
  • More »
Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
DO(OM) Yoga

DO(OM) Yoga @ Floor Polish

Sundays, 8-9 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 31 Great Things to do in Tucson this Weekend: Friday June 22-Sunday June 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. After Her Immigration Bill Fails, McSally Crows That It "Nearly" Passed (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Gov Race: Ken Bennett Talks Education, Gun Safety and Balancing the Budget (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Space Balls II (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. One Great Thing to Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, June 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation