Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Pima County Politics: Crowded Race To Replace Pima County Supervisor Ann Day

Posted By on Tue, Sep 27, 2011 at 3:00 PM

The race to replace Pima County Supervisor Ann Day, a Republican who is retiring after three terms on the board, is becoming a crowded affair.

Last week, Republican Stuart McDaniel announced he’d seek the District 1 seat, which represents the Catalina Foothills and Oro Valley on the five-member Board of Supervisors.

McDaniel, who has worked as a mortgage banker, served as deputy campaign manager for Republican Jesse Kelly’s unsuccessful congressional campaign against Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords last year.

State Rep. Vic Williams is also considering a run for the seat, although the Republican lawmaker can’t announce any plans until Jan. 1 without giving up his legislative seat under Arizona’s resign-to-run law.

Charlie Bowles, a vice president of marketing and sales for legendary land speculator Don Diamond’s Diamond Ventures, is also considering a run in the GOP primary, as is Tea Party activist Ally Miller.

Former state lawmaker Nancy Young Wright is weighing a run on the Democratic side.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Jim Nintzel

  • Editor's Note: South By South Wiped

    I'm still a little jangled from spending five days trying to drink from the sonic fire hose that is SXSW...
    • Mar 21, 2019
  • Editor’s Note: Rays of Sunshine

    It's Sunshine Week, which doesn't just mean another week of gorgeous weather here in Southern Arizona. It's also the week when the press points out the importance of having access to public records.
    • Mar 14, 2019
  • Editor's Note: Scam Alert

    This week, staff reporter Kathleen Kunz exposes some of the scams happening in our community.
    • Mar 7, 2019
  • More »
Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Share Your "Tales From Tumamoc" at the Cuéntame Más Camper (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday, March 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: The Conway Mood Killer (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: Crazy Wavy 2020 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation