Friday, September 16, 2011

Speak Peace Tomorrow at the UA Poetry Center

Posted By on Fri, Sep 16, 2011 at 3:54 PM

Together Protect Peace
  • Ta Thank Khue, age 15
  • Together Protect Peace

Speak Peace: American Voices Respond to Vietnamese Children's Paintings, currently on display at the UA Poetry Center, features poems written in response to Vietnamese children's paintings on peace and war.

The traveling exhibit contains 34 paintings collected by the War Remnants Museum in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. The museum has held a yearly art contest for the past 10 years. Each painting is displayed with one or more poems written in response to the art. Poems were written by American children, veterans and writers. Sixty poems were chosen out of 1,200 that were submitted.

Tomorrow, Saturday, Sept. 17, at 11:30 a.m., members of the Hopi Foundation's Owl and Panther Project will read their poetic responses to the painings. Speak Peace is on display through Friday, Sept. 23.

The exhibit is a collaboration between the War Remnants Museum, Kent State’s Wick Poetry Center and School of Art Galleries, and Soldiers’ Heart, a veterans’ return and healing organization.

The paintings are very expressive with bold colors and graphic images. "Terrible War" by Nguyen Pham Bao Tran, 12, shows planes dropping bombs, fires burning, black clouds of smoke, dead bodies and a distraught man.

These children "are growing up in a society (where) remnants of war, both physically and emotionally are very present. It's part of their everyday life," says David Hassler, director of the Wick Poetry Center.

The public is invited to add their thoughts about war and peace to a large scale installation created by local artist Kim Largey. The installation is in the children's corner of the Poetry Center.

The UA Poetry Center is located at 1508 E. Helen Street. Visit poetry.arizona.edu and speakpeace.net for more information.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Irene Messina

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
PiYo Strength Class

PiYo Strength Class @ Floor Polish

Thursdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. After Her Immigration Bill Fails, McSally Crows That It "Nearly" Passed (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Tucson, You Have Some Ugly Pets! (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Laughing Stock: Best of Baby Fish Mouth (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. UA Has Plenty of Cool Attractions for Summer (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Four Great Things to do in Tucson Today: Thursday, June 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation