Thursday, September 8, 2011

These Rattlesnakes Were Doing It in My Garden This Morning

Posted By on Thu, Sep 8, 2011 at 3:00 PM

rattlesnakes_doing_it_006.JPG

Oh really Jimmy Boegle? You think it's weird to roll into Tucson Weekly headquarters and find roadrunners getting it on? How about going out to water the tomatoes and finding two rattlesnakes getting busy?

I thought there was only one rattler in the garden until now. We had a ritual where I would water the cucumbers and he or she would slither away to hide under the palm tree. But finding them breeding made me realize I was about to have a snakeopolis on my hands, so I relocated them to the desert, where they continued their love affair.

Snake sex is amazingly beautiful, by the way. They stroke each other with their tails, rattles rattling away, and I think one of them was humming a Barry White song. Seriously though, very beautiful. I know it's a little weird, but I got a bit teary watching them, imagining how far they'd traveled and how hard they looked for each other. And they were so gentle with each other, so very gentle.

After I moved them to the desert they kept getting it on and on.
  • After I moved them to the desert they kept getting it on and on.

Tags: , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Adam Borowitz

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Two Great Things to Do in Tucson: Monday, June 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Laughing Stock: Is Blarney in the Blood? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. A Bitter Cup of News: Revolutionary Grounds Is Grinding to a Halt (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Fun with Dictators (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: Free Kool-Aid (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation