Tuesday, September 6, 2011

This Week is Teen Suicide Prevention Week

Posted By on Tue, Sep 6, 2011 at 1:30 PM

This week, the Southeastern Arizona Suicide Prevention Coalition is hosting a series of events as part of Teen Suicide Prevention Week.

Yesterday: A moment of silence observed by many local radio stations today to bring awareness to teen suicide.

Today: Free integrative healing sessions will be offered at the Blake Foundation, 5704 E. Grant Rd., from 6:30-7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 7: The National Alliance on Mental Illness of Southern Arizona will present a lecture titled "Parents & Teachers As Allies" from 6 to 7:30 p.m. at the Community Partnership of Southern Arizona Training Center, 2502 N. Dodge Blvd. Space is limited, RSVP required. Call 748-7108 for more information.

Thursday, Sept. 8: A brown bag lunch and presentation for the medical community will be offered. Call 748-7108 for details.

Friday, Sept. 9: The Southeastern Arizona Suicide Prevention Coalition is holding a Facebook frenzy, encouraging users to "like" their page on Facebook, and post memorials, songs, poems, and videos that bring light to teen suicide.

Saturday, Sept. 10: There will be representatives at Second Saturdays Downtown: suicide awareness information at Hotel Congress, 311 E. Congress St., and a "Celebration Of Youth" event at Dry River, 740 N. Main Ave.

Finally, there is one last event on Sept. 19—a walk in honor of suicide prevention at Maynard's, 400 N. Toole Ave.

Tags: , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Tucson's Newest Sports Team (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Zona Politics: Congressman Raul Grijalva and Congressional District 2 Candidate Mary Matiella (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation