Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Takamatsu Reopens Thursday

Posted By on Tue, Aug 2, 2011 at 12:00 PM

Takamatsu at 5532 E. Speedway Blvd. reopens Thursday, wrapping up a lengthy recovery from a fire that shuttered the restaurant more than a year ago.

Owner Peter Koga sent out a press release this week announcing the opening and detailing the improvements made to the eatery during the reconstruction.

Koga says he’s added a cocktail lounge and increased the size of the sushi bar. More big-screen televisions have also been added, as well as additional “Japanese flair” throughout.

The restaurant will now feature an all-you-can-eat lunch buffet for $9.95 and will serve sushi all day long. A happy hour daily from 3 to 6 p.m. will feature items from the dinner menu done tapas-style and, of course, specials on drinks.

Few restaurant closings have stirred as much emotion amongst Tucson diners as this one; I’ve received numerous inquiries as to when they would reopen. I’ve also spoken to Koga on several occasions during the recovery, and he’s gone to some extreme lengths to get the doors back open.

So welcome back Takamatsu. Tucson has certainly missed you.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Adam Borowitz

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
DO(OM) Yoga

DO(OM) Yoga @ Floor Polish

Sundays, 8-9 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday, March 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Claytoon of the Day: The Conway Mood Killer (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. How Did Edbuild Get Arizona's Per-Student Funding Numbers So Wrong? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation