Monday, June 27, 2011

U.S. Supreme Court: Clean Elections' Matching Funds "Burdens Political Speech"

Posted By on Mon, Jun 27, 2011 at 8:48 AM

Arizona's Clean Election program, which provides campaign dollars for candidates for state office, suffered another blow today, when the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that its matching-fund program is unconstitutional.

The 5-4 ruling (which you can find here) doesn't bring an end to the program—but it does seriously hamstring candidates who decide to use it. Qualifying candidates will still be able to get an initial lump sum of money, which varies depending on the office they are seeking. But if their opponent (or independent committees) spend more money than that, the Clean Elections candidates will no longer be eligible for matching funds to level the playing field.

On a practical level, this decision means that any candidate who can raise funds privately would be smarter to go that route.

Clean Elections faces more threats in the future. State lawmakers have put a proposition on the 2012 ballot that would ban the use of any public funds on political campaigns, which would bring an end to both Clean Elections and the city of Tucson's system of publicly financed campaigns. Supporters of Clean Elections have challenged the constitutionality of the ballot proposal in state court.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

More by Jim Nintzel

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
PiYo Strength Class

PiYo Strength Class @ Floor Polish

Thursdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. New Ballot Initiative Promises Cheaper Electricity Bills and Cleaner Air (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. T.H.R.E.A.T. Watch: Border Edition (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. One Great Thing to Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, June 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: The Chump Foundation (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Sally Hemings, 1773-2018: Hemingses' Lives Matter (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation