Friday, June 10, 2011

Idiot Boksen - Just Watch Basketball

Posted By on Fri, Jun 10, 2011 at 3:50 PM

5766015224_db8b4fbaf4.jpg

Whenever I think about the Arizona summer now, I like to think about it the way Ned Stark refers to winter in Game of Thrones. It's coming, it's going to be awful, and most of the television landscape leaves on the last cool breezes.

Things aren't that bleak, of course. Game of Thrones still has a couple episodes to go. South Park is happening (more on that next week). Breaking Bad returns in July, which cannot come soon enough. Friday Night Lights is about to wrap up its network run (though the finale aired months ago through Direct TV).

Fortunately, with DVRs, DVDs and HBO Go, Arizona summers don't have to be quite so grim. I recommend starting on Breaking Bad's 3rd season, which was just released on DVD and Blu-Ray.

In the meantime, though, there's an epic battle waging between Good and Evil in the NBA Finals. Dallas is one of my least favorite places in the United States, I can't stand Mark Cuban's incessant whining, and Tyson Chandler strikes me as the NBA equivalent of an '80s movie villain. But I want them to beat Miami in the most heartbreaking way possible.

It's not that I hate Lebron James or Dwyane Wade or Chris Bosh. It's perfectly find if Lebron James is never Michael Jordan. I'm pretty sure Michael Jordan is a sociopath. And if I was from Cleveland, I'd want to get out of there as soon as humanly possible, too. I just don't want them to win now. Or ever, really, but I assume it'll happen at some point because that's how the world works. For now, I want the superteam to lose.

This has been one of the most compelling NBA playoffs on record, and the Finals have been amazing. You may as well be watching.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Jordan Green

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 22 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: Sept. 21-Sept. 23 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. UA Choral Concert featuring University Singers and Honors Choir (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Zona Politics: Congressman Raul Grijalva and Congressional District 2 Candidate Mary Matiella (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation