Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Green Party Mayoral Primary: Croteau vs. DeCamp!

Posted By on Tue, May 31, 2011 at 3:22 PM

It appears we’ve got a Green Party mayoral primary on our hands in Tucson.

Mary DeCamp, who ran for the Ward 3 City Council seat two years ago, jumped into the race for the Green Party nomination last week against Dave Croteau, who ran for mayor four years ago.

But don’t expect a lot of negative campaigning between the candidates.

Croteau says they’re the best of friends and sees this as an opportunity to get the media to cover a regular series of debates.

“It think it’s wonderful,” Croteau says. “We know that the media doesn’t cover candidates until there’s a contested race, either in the primary or the general.”

DeCamp agrees that the campaigns will be friendly. She points out that Croteau signed her nominating petition, while she signed Croteau’s nominating petition.

DeCamp says she decided to get into the race after noting that all the other candidates—Croteau, Democrats Jonathan Rothschild and Marshall Home, Republicans Shaun McClusky and Ron Asta, and independent Pat Darcy—are all men.

“There are no women in the race,” DeCamp says. “I believe that the masculine mindset has dominated for quite some time and it’s not getting us to a better place.”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Jim Nintzel

  • By the Time We Got to Woodstock…

    Jim talks about all the Woodstock anniversary, our #Greenshirtguy column, toads and more in this week's edition.
    • Aug 15, 2019
  • Candid Camera

    Jim Nintzel talks about our cover story this week and introduces the rest of the content in this edition of the Tucson weekly.
    • Aug 8, 2019
  • Time To Vote!

    • Aug 1, 2019
  • More »
Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Viva Las Vegas Star Studded Spectacular Revue!

Viva Las Vegas Star Studded Spectacular Revue! @ The Gaslight Music Hall

Thu., Aug. 22, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Aug. 29, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Sept. 5, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Sept. 12, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Sept. 19, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Sept. 26, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 3, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 10, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 17, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 24, 6-8 p.m., Wed., Oct. 30, 6-8 p.m., Wed., Nov. 6, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Nov. 7, 6-8 p.m., Wed., Nov. 13, 6-8 p.m., Thu., Nov. 14, 6-8 p.m., Wed., Nov. 20, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., Nov. 21, 6-8 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

The Musical World of Fairy Tales

Come celebrate and enjoy music from favorite fairy tale movies and musicals including Shrek, Wicked, Wizard of… More

@ Arizona Rose Theatre Sat., Aug. 24, 7-9 p.m., Sun., Aug. 25, 2-4 p.m., Sat., Aug. 31, 7-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 1, 2-4 p.m., Sat., Sept. 7, 7-9 p.m. and Sun., Sept. 8, 2-4 p.m. 4500 N Oracle Rd, Suite 329

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: Bigly Crowds (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. A [Fill in the Blank] as the Democratic Presidential Candidate? I Guess Democrats Just Want to Lose. (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Interview With TUSD Board Member Leila Counts (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Carmina Robles | Los Colores (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Adoptable Pet: Paulie Needs a Home (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation