Monday, March 14, 2011

Rocky Times in Rocky Point

Posted By on Mon, Mar 14, 2011 at 3:20 PM

hulk.jpg
Just in time for Spring Break: Ray Stern of Phoenix New Times delivers a dispatch from Rocky Point:

The town's boosters, condo owners, real estate officials, store owners, taco sellers, ATV renters, and residents are desperate for business, and they want people to believe the town of 50,000 is "safe." They want to talk about relative safety, how Sonora is the least violent state in Mexico and why major drug cartel activity seems to skip over the town.

No wonder, then, that Rocky Pointers don't want to chat about the August shooting of a tourist in the popular Malecon portion of the town's Old Port marina.

Asking around about it, New Times was told by several businesspeople that they weren't aware of the murder. Others misdirected reporters, saying it did occur, just not where New Times had been told it happened.

"Take good pictures, tell a good story," urges one man at a roadside food stand.

"You're digging shit up so nobody comes here," says another, miffed at the questions. "We need people to come!"

Then this disturbing follow-up from Gregory Pratt:


A Rocky Point, Mexico man was murdered in a local hospital at the start of Spring Break last Saturday, after gunmen failed to kill him in a high-speed chase through the streets, sources confirm to New Times.

Javier Celaya Vega, 21, was driving a white 2004 GMC Sierra through the city about 4:30 p.m. Saturday when assassins opened fire on his car, pumping 35 rounds into his vehicle. Responding officers found no one inside the truck, so they searched the surrounding area and found Vega wounded, but alive.

Officers took him to the general hospital in Las Brisas del Golfo, but gunmen with AK-47s showed up shortly after to finish him off — the assassins shot him four times in the emergency room and nine times overall.

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

More by Jim Nintzel

  • Bennu Trek

    UA space scientist Dante Lauretta talks about closing in on the asteroid he’s been hunting on NASA’s behalf
    • Sep 13, 2018
  • And They’re Off!

    Governor’s race is the highlight of the statewide campaigns now underway
    • Sep 13, 2018
  • Editor's Note

    Ballot Box Basics
    • Sep 13, 2018
  • More »
Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Pac-12 Power Rankings: Bryce Love and the Stanford Cardinal Lead the Way (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Mayochup On a Cheeseburger? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Manafort Flips (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Beto Vs. Creepo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. English Premier League Matchday 5 Weekly Round-up (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation