Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Kromko Gets Probation

Posted By on Tue, Mar 1, 2011 at 5:17 PM

KOLD Channel 3 reported yesterday that former state legislator and activist John Kromko was sentenced to two years of probation "after pleading guilty to charges stemming from questionable signatures on his petitions to get on the general election ballot in 2008."

In an e-mail to KOLD, Kromko writes, "... if I had been convicted of even one bad signature, it would have meant mandatory life in prison. Juries aren't allowed to be told what the penalty is, and with multiple charges, they are inclined to find at least some guilt. So when they offered me a plea to a lesser charge that would result in probation, I took it. Just as almost anyone would have, whether they were guilty or not."

Tags: ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
Tuesday Flexibility

Tuesday Flexibility @ Circus Sanctuary

Tuesdays, 10-11 a.m. Continues through May 28

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, March 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Arizona Spends $7,613 More Per Student In White Districts Than In Nonwhite Districts? Really? (Answer: No, Not Really) (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Trump Beto Veto (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Tucson Roadrunners Unveil Kachina-Themed Jerseys (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation