Thursday, February 3, 2011

If Your Heat is Out, There Are Warm Places to Go

Posted By on Thu, Feb 3, 2011 at 4:42 PM

From the City of Tucson:

Two community shelter locations have been established to provide a warm place for families to stay overnight.

Pantano Christian Church, 10355 E. 29th Street will be open at 5 p.m. and can accept people without pets. Service animals are exempt.

The Udall Recreation Center, 7200 E. Tanque Verde Road will open at 5 p.m. and will offer accommodations for people and their pets. Pets MUST be crated while at the shelter. When taking pets outside, pets MUST be kept on leash. Staff will be available to assist with pet issues at this shelter. Udall Center will remain open during regular operational hours for center activities.

Both shelters will provide a communal area for people with cots, blankets, comfort kits, and basic food/water. If you plan to go to a shelter, remember to take appropriate medications, personal toiletries and sanitation items, baby supplies (bottles, formula, baby food, diapers), cell phones with chargers, and supplies for pets (crates, collar, leash, ID, food, carrier, bowl). If you will be taking children to the shelter, remember to bring their comfort items and/or special toys to keep them occupied.

Tags: , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. How Did Edbuild Get Arizona's Per-Student Funding Numbers So Wrong? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. XOXO: Where to Rock This Weekend, March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation