Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Don't Travel to Nogales To Buy Your Medical Marijuana

Posted By on Wed, Feb 2, 2011 at 12:31 PM

Hank Stephenson of the Nogales International has this tidbit in a story about zoning rules for medical marijuana in Santa Cruz County:


But while P&Z’s recommendations for implementing the new state law may be few, discussion at the Jan. 27 meeting noted that federal authorities — like those stationed at the Border Patrol’s I-19 checkpoint — are unlikely to adopt a similarly laid-back approach.

Border Patrol spokesperson Colleen Agle confirmed the suspicion: Don’t try to travel through the I-19 checkpoint with your medical pot, she said, or you will get busted.

“Federal law still prohibits the possession of marijuana, so we’re going to continue enforcing the federal law (at the I-19 checkpoint),” Agle said. “Any possession, whether it’s a small amount or a giant bundle, is still illegal under federal law… it’s an arrestable charge.”

Read the whole thing here.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Jim Nintzel

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Celebrate National Public Lands Day (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Bert, Ernie, and Squirmy (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation