Monday, January 31, 2011

Das Racist is Coming! Das Racist! Club Congress!

Posted By on Mon, Jan 31, 2011 at 11:42 AM

I have no idea how this happened, but NYC deconstructionist rap group Das Racist are coming to Club Congress' Optimist Club on Thursday Feb. 10 with Phoenix/NYC hip-hop act Silver Medallion (who are still reeling from the death of one of their members last year). Even stranger, the show's only $3. To say the least, these guys coming to Tucson should be a big deal.

In fact, Gene Armstrong listed one of the group's two 2010 mixtapes (Shut Up, Dude) as one of his favorite releases in our year-end wrapup:


The Brooklyn trio satirizes the tropes of rap music while celebrating it, tossing in stoned logic, pointed social commentary and pop-culture references so kaleidoscopic that you may need footnotes. This is one of two great albums released by Das Racist this year; both are available as free "mixtapes" on the Internet. It contains the underground hit "Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell."

"You Oughta Know" from Shut Up, Dude:

"hahahaha jk?" from Sit Down, Man:

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Dan Gibson

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. The Weekly List: 29 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Laughing Stock: Quiñones' Creeper Rides High (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. The Evolution and Devolution of Diane Douglas (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Saving the Sanctuary: Tucson City Council Pushes for Historic Status for Midtown Benedictine Monastery as Development Battle Intensifies (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation