Thursday, January 20, 2011

El Guero Canelo to Open Eastside Location

Posted By on Thu, Jan 20, 2011 at 3:42 PM

El Güero Canelo, the local joint famous for its Sonoran hot dogs and carne asada, is opening an eastside location.

The new location—which will be similar to the other two locations, but with a drive-through —is going in at an old Los Betos at 5802 E. 22nd St., said Corina Miranda, an El Güero Canelo spokeswoman.

“It’s going to be a nice one,” said Daniel Contreras, who owns the restaurants with his wife, Blanca. “I’ve been waiting for many, many years to do this, because I have a lot of support from our eastside customers, and finally we have a building over there. So it’s very nice.”

The new location is expected to open in late May or early June.

Contreras opened the first El Güero Canelo inside a tiny food trailer in 1993, and worked his way up. He said he comes from the humblest of beginnings, and that he thanks his loyal customers and a higher power for the degree of success he has known.

“I never had anything. I came from doing shoe shines and selling newspapers. I never went to school,” Contreras said today. “There has to be a higher power.”

Contreras said his business skyrocketed after the restaurant was featured on the national television shows Man V. Food and Food Wars. He also said that Janos Wilder played an enormous part in his success.

“Janos is the one that got me into the national media,” Contreras said today. “He brought people from out of state to eat here, and I have to thank him so much for everything. He’s such a good man, and he does so many good things for people in Tucson.”

“He’s definitely invited to the opening,” said Contreras.

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Adam Borowitz

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. How Did Edbuild Get Arizona's Per-Student Funding Numbers So Wrong? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. XOXO: Where to Rock This Weekend, March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation