Tuesday, December 28, 2010

The Food Truck Diaries: El Chivo de Oro

Posted By on Tue, Dec 28, 2010 at 10:29 AM

Jesus watches over the tip jar at the mighty El Chivo de Oro.
  • Jesus watches over the tip jar at the mighty El Chivo de Oro.

A breakfast plate at El Chivo de Oro (translation: The Golden Goat) will set you back $6, and that includes three handmade tortillas the size of dinner plates. The proper way to enjoy these tortillas is to place one’s face an inch away while pulling back the cloth towel and allowing tendrils of tortilla steam to tickle the neck and fill the nostrils.

Ignore the locals as they stare at the stranger with his head in a basket of tortillas. Breathe.

El Chivo de Oro serves breakfast with three kinds of salsa—two red, and one green. The head tacos, birria, soups and tortas are fresh and good; the dining area is spartan, yet shaded; and the place is open from about sunrise until the wee hours of the evening.

El Chivo de Oro is located in a vacant lot on the corner of 11th Avenue and Irvington Road. Go eat there. You won’t be disappointed.

The breakfast plate comes with three miraculous tortillas.
  • The breakfast plate comes with three miraculous tortillas.

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Adam Borowitz

Today | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. The Weekly List: 19 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. T.H.R.E.A.T. Watch: It's Getting Real (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. The Weekly List: 23 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: Quiñones' Creeper Rides High (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation