Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Mormon Church: Same-Sex Attraction Not a Sin. (But Acting on It Is?)

Posted By on Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 8:00 AM

According to a post on Advocate.com, the Mormon church issued a new edition of its leadership guidelines, which includes a new policy that no longer calls for gays to repent their "homosexual thoughts or feelings."

But LGBT Mormons must remain celibate in order to participate in temple rituals and receive church assignments known as "callings." Acting on same-sex attractions or marrying a same-sex partner remains against church policy.

OK, well, we knew there had to be a catch.

Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Pima Theatre - Mamma Mia!

By Catherine Johnson based on the songs of ABBA. Sing-Along performances Friday, Feb. 22 & March 1… More

@ Pima Community College Center for the Arts Thu., Feb. 21, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Fri., Feb. 22, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., Feb. 23, 2-4 & 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., Feb. 24, 2-4 p.m., Thu., Feb. 28, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Fri., March 1, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., March 2, 2-4 & 7:30-9:30 p.m. and Sun., March 3, 2-4 p.m. 2202 W. Anklam Road.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 23 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend, Feb. 15 to 17 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. XOXO: Where to Rock in Tucson Thursday, Feb. 14 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. All Bets Are On: Jon Wilner Talks Pac-12 and Sean Miller's Future in Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. History Has Its Eyes On You: A Hamilton Music Revue (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: RAMa Lama Ding Dongs (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation