Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Giffords Speaks at the Marriott, Glassman Concedes (We Think)

Posted By on Tue, Nov 2, 2010 at 9:55 PM

Gabrielle Giffords and Rodney Glassman have taken the stage at the Marriott tonight: Giffords to remark on the tone of the campaign and to thank her staffers, and Glassman to mention his conversation with McCain and talk about what's next for him (diapers and reserve duty).

The feel of this night was evident in the response to the two speeches: Giffords had the crowd's full attention, punctuatingt her speech with bursts of applause, while Glassman was overrun by the collective conversation for most of his remarks. It came to the point that someone had to loudly ask for quiet while Glassman gave his half-concession. Both candidates talked about how proud they were of their campaign, but Glassman's campaign seems to have been erased from the collective memory even before the night really began.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. The Weekly List: 19 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Laughing Stock: Quiñones' Creeper Rides High (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. The Weekly List: 23 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation