Saturday, August 14, 2010

2nd Saturday: Concert Honoring Cele Peterson

Posted By on Sat, Aug 14, 2010 at 8:30 AM

As part of the Tucson's 235th birthday events and 2nd Saturdays Downtown, there will be a concert at the Fox Theatre honoring the late Cele Peterson at 7 p.m., tonight, Saturday, Aug. 14. The event will include a screening of a short film by former Tucson Citizen staffer Daniel Buckley, Cele Peterson: La Doña del Pueblo. The film includes interview Buckley did with Peterson, as well as parts of her 100th birthday celebration from last year (above).

The 7 p.m. show at the Fox, 17 W. Congress St., is free. Salvador Duran will perform, as well as Gabriel Ayala, Olga Flores, Gospel Workshop of America (Tucson chapter), Tucson Chinese School Lion Dancers, Los Gallegos, Mariachi Sonido de Mexico and Sticks & Fingers Caribbean Review.

For more info on the month-long Tucson birthday offerings, go here.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Pima Theatre - Mamma Mia!

By Catherine Johnson based on the songs of ABBA. Sing-Along performances Friday, Feb. 22 & March 1… More

@ Pima Community College Center for the Arts Thu., Feb. 21, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Fri., Feb. 22, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., Feb. 23, 2-4 & 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., Feb. 24, 2-4 p.m., Thu., Feb. 28, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Fri., March 1, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., March 2, 2-4 & 7:30-9:30 p.m. and Sun., March 3, 2-4 p.m. 2202 W. Anklam Road.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Missing Parrot! Have You Seen Ernie? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, Feb. 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. An Arizona Voucher Q&A (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Zona Politics: Yellow Sheets Editor Hank Stephenson Talks About the Latest at the AZ Capitol (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. XOXO: Where to Rock in Tucson Thursday, Feb. 14 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation