Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Tucson Weekly Gets U.S. House Floor Shout-Out

Posted By on Wed, May 26, 2010 at 4:31 PM

Our April 29 story on the Robert Krentz murder got a lot of people talking in a lot of different places, one of which was the floor of the U.S. House of Representatives this week. District 8 Representative Gabrielle Giffords displayed a large version of that issue's cover and quoted several sections of the Leo W. Banks story during a speech about border security that came on the heels of the president authorizing National Guard troops to the U.S. Mexico border.

The video was posted today on Rep. Giffords' YouTube page. This marks the second D.C. shout-out Giffords made about the paper.

Giffords also spoke with Bob Orr with CBS News and will appear tonight on "Countdown with Keith Olbermann" to talk about border security. We'll keep you posted on if the Tucson Weekly gets a mention on MSNBC.


Watch CBS News Videos Online

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Nick Smith

Today | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday, March 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. How Did Edbuild Get Arizona's Per-Student Funding Numbers So Wrong? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation