Sunday, August 30, 2009

McCain: "I think it harmed us"

Posted By on Sun, Aug 30, 2009 at 7:27 PM

In The Skinny this week, we were critical of Sen. John McCain when he backed Sarah Palin's nonsense about death panels, but we liked what he had to say today about why it's not in the country's best interest to torture people. (Less happy about McCain's reluctance to investigate actions by people who went beyond what even the loose standards of Bush administration allowed.)

McCain says: "The damage that it did to America's image in the world is still something that we are still on the way to repairing. This is an ideological struggle as well as a physical one."

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Jim Nintzel

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. In Which I Find Myself Agreeing With (1) John Huppenthal and (2) The Charles Koch Institute (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Claytoon of the Day: Free Kool-Aid (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Two Great Things to Do in Tucson: Monday, June 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Go Grab A Drink With The World Cup (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: Is Blarney in the Blood? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation