Thursday, May 21, 2009

Talkin' Dirty

Posted By on Thu, May 21, 2009 at 12:35 PM

6c4a/1242935279-grill.jpg

Some say that cleanliness will get you closer to godliness, but it's filthiness that'll score you a new grill thanks to a contest being put on by Barbecue World.

The contest—which ends Saturday, July 4—offers a bulletproof excuse to not have to clean up after one's self, which is a secret desire of any barbecue nut worth his sauce.

So lay down thine wire brushes and scrapers this Memorial Day weekend, and let the funk in.

Here's the text from the press release with more details:

BARBECUE WORLD HOLDS CONTEST FOR TUCSON’S DIRTIEST GRILL

Tucson, Arizona — With the grilling season now in full force, Barbecue World is looking for the dirtiest, grimiest, greasiest grill in Tucson — and will award the owner with a brand-new $1,000 barbecue island or $800 to Barbecue World.

“My favorite thing about summer is the barbecues. But after a good long summer, those grills get pretty dirty,” said George Holley, owner of Barbecue World and 15-year veteran of the barbecue business. “This is a great opportunity for Tucson’s dirty grill owners to win a clean new grill. And a clean grill is important when it comes to great tasting food.”

Barbecue World will award the Contest’s second place winner with

a complete grill cleaning from Clean Ours, and the third place winner with a certificate for half-off a grill cleaning.

To enter, dirty-grill owners just need to take a snapshot of their grill and bring it in to one of the two Barbecue World locations — 5616 E. Broadway or 5068 N. Oracle, or visit the Web site at www.bbqworldtucson.com. While supplies last, in-store Contest entries will also receive a gift certificate to Takamatsu or Thunder Canyon Brewery.

Entries for The Dirtiest Grill Contest will be accepted until closing time on July 4, 2009 and will be judged on July 5.

Barbecue World specializes in a wide variety of grills, smokers, grilling accessories, sauces and marinades. They also design and build outdoor kitchens and cooking areas.

For entry rules or more information about Barbecue World’s Dirtiest Grill Contest, visit www.bbqworldtucson.com, or visit one of the Barbecue World locations.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Adam Borowitz

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 22 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: Sept. 21-Sept. 23 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Get Your Dog Washed For A Good Cause - P.S. there is an opp-beer-tunity. (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Shardonee Hayes and Arizona Volleyball Sweep Arizona State in Pac-12 Opener (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Celebrate National Public Lands Day (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation