Thursday, April 2, 2009

Radioactive Man

Posted By on Thu, Apr 2, 2009 at 9:15 AM

0209/1238689699-picttomzoellner.jpg

Tom Zoellner, a sometimes-Tucsonan who has written the engaging Uranium: War, Energy and the Rock that Shaped the World, will be Jon Stewart's guest on The Daily Show tonight. We at The Range are, of course, seething with jealousy.

Hampton Sides, bestselling author of Ghost Soldiers, and winner of the PEN award for nonfiction, has high praise for Uranium:


Who knew that a rock could be so endlessly fascinating? In this engaging geo-thriller, Tom Zoellner leads us through uranium's dark and colorful past and points us to its possibly terrifying future. Put on your haz-mat suit and prepare yourself for a wild and ultimately sobering ride.

Here's a Q&A with Zoellner that ran in TW a few weeks back.

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

More by Jim Nintzel

  • The Skinny

    Martha McSally expecting a vote on the hardline immigration measure she is cosponsoring and Ally Miller is playing nice, for now.
    • May 24, 2018
  • Editor's Note

    Sweet Summer Sun
    • May 24, 2018
  • Editor's Note

    Fourth and Goals
    • May 17, 2018
  • More »
Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Saving the Sanctuary: Tucson City Council Pushes for Historic Status for Midtown Benedictine Monastery as Development Battle Intensifies (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. The Evolution and Devolution of Diane Douglas (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. The Weekly List: 23 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation