Monday, January 19, 2009

JCVD at the Loft

Posted By on Mon, Jan 19, 2009 at 11:52 AM

I caught a matinee of JCVD at The Loft over the weekend. Jean-Claude Van Damme plays himself as an aging action-movie hero who is losing his roles to Steven Seagal and has a variety of legal problems, including a court battle over custody of his daughter. He ends up as a hostage in a bank robbery during a visit home to Belgium. Hijinks ensue.

I'm not a huge Van Damme fan, though I vaguely remember enjoying Timecop. Nonetheless, I'd recommend JCVD. It's clever and a lot of fun.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Jim Nintzel

  • Editor's Note

    Fourth and Goals
    • May 17, 2018
  • The Skinny

    The Congressional District 2 democratic showdown
    • May 17, 2018
  • The Skinny

    Class Warfare and Other Notes 13 Takeaways from the 2018 Legislative Session
    • May 10, 2018
  • More »
Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Arlo Needs a Home (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. The Weekly List: 23 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation