Wednesday, October 4, 2006

Women Who Rock?

Posted By on Wed, Oct 4, 2006 at 10:34 AM

Sure, there are other, pressing, more important political issues going on right now, but this really chaps my hide: AOL's Top 20 Women Who Rock Right Now is just wrong on so many levels, it's hard to even begin. Granted, the list is on AOL, and hence has to reach a "mainstream" audience, and everyone has different definitions of what it means to "rock," and numbers 7, 16, 18, and 14 definitely deserve to be there, as well as a few of the others, but Kelly Clarkson? Seriously? How much of her "rock" persona is actually her and not designed by record-label goons? I get suspicious when being a "woman who rocks" so often involves wearing sexy clothes and being a "bad girl."

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Annie Holub

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. T.H.R.E.A.T. Watch: Border Edition (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Exo Roast Co. Ditches Plastic for Paper (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Yappy Jesus (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. The Loft to host free screening of 'Edward II' (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. #RedforEd Initiative Would Hike Taxes on Rich to Pay for Schools (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation