Nightlands: Oak Island 

Dave Hartley's second album under the Nightlands name refines the hallucinatory, gospel-flavored ambient cocoon he devised on 2010's Forget the Mantra, in addition to his day job work with The War on Drugs. The song titles on Oak Island tell the whole story—"So Far So Long," "Time & Place," "Nico," "So It Goes" and "Born to Love" are all self-explanatory when pinning down the record's mood.

Those tracks form the core of the first two-thirds of Oak Island, with "Time & Place" and "Nico" being extraordinarily beautiful ruminations on the womb-return blues once perfectly termed in Laurie Anderson's "Born, Never Asked." "Born to Love" is a stunner, opening with a guitar riff swiped from "Beast of Burden," before piling on the horns, congas and pulsating '70s Barry White beat to an atypical and anthemic song structure.

The two other tracks that propel Oak Island into the stratosphere are "Rolling Down the Hill" and "Other People's Pockets." The former is a short blast of what sounds like a DJ mixing a scratched record of ancient German Gabber-house with experimental post-disco a la Talking Heads' Remain in Light. On an album already remarkable for unexpected twists and turns, "Rolling Down the Hill" is where Hartley ditches his influences and finds his own muse.

And that turns out to be the redemptive "Other People's Pockets," which climbs to a dizzying climax from its spare beginnings.

More by Joshua Levine

  • Noise Annoys

    Daniel and Damian Diaz, Amelia Poe and Trees Speak
    • Nov 24, 2016
  • Know Your Product

    Stars pick their top five! This week: J Lugo Miller
    • Nov 17, 2016
  • Noise Annoys

    Donald Trump, hipster narcissism and punk rock
    • Nov 17, 2016
  • More »


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

The Range

After Orlando: An International Theatre Action

Fifth Annual Rock Lottery with The Flycatcher

More »

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Vintage Vinyl Tucson

    This week: The Spiders 'Don’t Blow Your Mind' b/w 'No Price Tag'
    • Nov 24, 2016
  • Court and Spark

    This Tucson singer-songwriter, who moonlights as a jailhouse psychotherapist, overcame career-killing circumstances
    • Dec 1, 2016
  • More »

People who saved…

Facebook Activity

© 2016 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation