Sunday, May 4, 2014

AZ Illustrated Politics: Fred DuVal Says Legislature Flunked the Session

Posted By on Sun, May 4, 2014 at 9:05 PM

On Friday's AZ Illustrated Politics: Democratic gubernatorial candidate Fred DuVal said lawmakers earned between a D (for "disappointing") and F (for "failure") for recently completed legislative session. DuVal called for more dollars for education and child-welfare programs; said he was opposed to expanding programs that provide public dollars for private schools; criticized lawmakers for passing anti-gay and anti-abortion legislation; and promised to reverse Gov. Jan Brewer's push to deny driver's licenses and in-state tuition for DREAM Act kids.

Republican National Committeeman Bruce Ash and Pima County Democratic Party chairman Don Jorgensen tackled immigration issues, the latest skirmish over equal pay in the race between Congressman Ron Barber and Republican challenger Martha McSally, and the legislative session.

Staff Pick

Something Something Theatre presents "What Every Girl Should Know" (2014) by Monica Byrne

Catholic reform school girls in 1914 discover Margaret Sanger and her message of freedom through birth control.… More

@ The Community Playhouse Thu., Feb. 9, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Fri., Feb. 10, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., Feb. 11, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., Feb. 12, 2-4 p.m., Fri., Feb. 17, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., Feb. 18, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., Feb. 19, 2-4 p.m., Fri., Feb. 24, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., Feb. 25, 7:30-9:30 p.m. and Sun., Feb. 26, 2-4 p.m. 1881 N. Oracle Road.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Mordecai Needs a Home (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Cinema Clips: XX (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. TUSD Board Meeting Scheduled For Tuesday, Feb. 21. Only One Item on the Agenda (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. TUSD Sideshow (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. T.H.R.E.A.T. Watch: Bless, Keep and Protect Our Free Press (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation